Mercedes-Benz Financial Services

Keegan Kuvach

Five Stages of Childhood

2012, Sand, toys, wood, paint, found objects, polymer adhesive, 20"w x 20"h x 2"d (each)

Partially biographical, each relief sculpture is meant to represent one of the five stages of childhood development: trust, ego, connections, values and identity. While these stages are not always universally agreed upon, they generally encompass the changes occurring mentally and physically between the ages of 0 and 16. Through humor and iconography, my intent is to call attention to the different values we adopt as we mature. Values pertaining to violence, indulgence, sexuality and consumerism are most intriguing to me, and through a playful artistic practice, I investigate how we become the people we are today.

Keegan Kuvach - Five Stages of Childhood

Leave a Comment

A Daimler Company